Pinelands had its own independent library which was funded by annual subscriptions and operated by volunteers. It was first housed in the home of Mrs Carter in Acacia Way from May 1924. It started with gifts of books and 50 books bought at Darters sale for one shilling each. Within four months, with a membership of 58, the library moved to the minor hall at the Civic Hall.
Requests for donations from Province and Garden Cities fell on deaf ears, but in 1942 with some 233 subscribers it was moved to the Municipal building in Central Square where the cash office is now situated.
In 1944 the free provincial Library services were started which entitled the library to a grant. This was used to buy its first Afrikaans books and in the following year, the first magazines were purchased.
Despite the annual grant from province, the library had not qualified to become a fully provincial affiliated library due to its accommodation not meeting the required standards. This was overcome in 1979 when the Pinelands municipality enter into a two year lease with Pine Park next to Howard Centre to house the library. The now free library soon outgrew its premises and in 1980 it moved to Howard Centre for eight years.
The Pineland municipality finally agreed to the library having its own building at Howard Centre. With a donation of R300 000 from the Director of Library Services, a new building was designed by Mr Sturrock and opened by Alderman Dose in 1988. The Pineneedles Club presented the library with a tapestry depicting the Pinelands coat of arms.
The Pinelands library remains one of the most used libraries in the Western Cape Region of library services.